Sometimes A Little Dirt Can Do You Good

“When god created the horse, he said to the magnificent creature: I have made thee as no other. All the treasures of the earth lie between thy eyes. Thy shalt carry my friends upon thy back. Thy saddle shall be the seat of prayers to me. And thou shalt fly without wings, and conquer without sword; oh horse.” – Anonymous, Quran

Hulan

This photo that I took of Hulan back in October had an unexpected glow in it. At first I thought, “Wow, I just took a really cool photo”. But upon zooming in, I realized that the “glow” that I thought was cool could very well just be dirt on my lens.

Well, I don’t exactly know if it’s dirt, or oil, or condensation (well, my camera was tuck in quite warmly in my camera bag for a few hours before I took it out on a cool autumn evening). But it’s definitely something. Even after wiping my lens, that “glow” was still present in photos after that.

Like in the one I took of Hulan and Francesco ( the friend who owns this magnificent horse, whose t-shirt btw actually reads “Body Glove” and NOT “Body Love”. Just so we’re clear on that ;p ). I thought the “glow” put a nice effect in the shot. I never thought I’d be happy to have dirt on my lens.

Man and Beast

p/s: I got so excited when I saw Hulan that I completely forgot to check my camera settings before snapping any photos. The first photo was taken on ISO 1250 (yes, I’m such a noob!!). There’s just so much noise in that photo that it really doesn’t do Hulan any justice at all.

p:p/s: I had to abandon the post on my film development experiment as I wasn’t able to open the film roll ’cause I was unable to find my bottle opener. Will definitely get back to that when I get home this week!

Leave a Reply

